Dinner Plates…of the flowery kind

Have you ever seen such a striking bloom?  My eyes first caught sight of these red 8-10 inch saucer hibiscus in the summer of 2006 in front of Arby’s.  As a newcomer to the area and totally engrossed in flower photography, I distinctly remember driving down busy Highway 72 west of Corinth early one morning.

“Wow!  What was that?”  The car veered to the right as I swerved into the Arby’s parking lot.  The brakes squealed as I turned sharply and then screeched to a dead halt.  The door flung open, and I nearly forgot to turn off the ignition as I ran from the car.  Instinctively, my hands grabbed the trusty Canon S30 lying on the seat beside me on the way out.  Tripping over my size 12’s in my haste, I managed to not harm either the camera or me.

The car door left ajar.  I ran to the waiting subject.

What a sight for anyone watching the woman with the camera through Arby’s front windows.   Possessed by the delectable color and texture of these red platters, I maneuvered around them gleaning every speck of observable light.  Hovering over them like a buzzing bee, aiming the point and shoot closer and closer to the spectacular subject.  Hues, shadows, saturation:  all spectrums continually changing with every twist or turn of body and camera in the early morning light.  Intense crimson red nestled in deep jade green with a vibrant sky-blue backdrop—my type of image!

God’s artistic statement in the first photograph has won several first places in local photography contests, has hung in the Corinth Art Gallery, has been exhibited at several area libraries, and has even hung in our local coffee shop.  The beauty of this luscious flash of color shared with many since its initial capturing through the lens.

So enamored with its breathtaking summer beauty, we have since planted these enormous saucer hibiscus in our backyard.  Relocated several times, their intimidating root system almost requires an ax to dig up and separate.   The heavy-laden blooms tower over a gangly, finely-textured foliage about 4-5 feet in height.  Our neighbor’s white picket fence provides a superb stabilizer as the monstrous blooms lean heavily upon and over the top edge.  There’s no doubt in my mind these amazing specimens will proliferate and flourish for years to come.

The impressive, extravagant floral examples can be acquired in pink, red, white, or a combination of tints and mixtures of all three.  For a continuous display of summer color and garden splendor, these root-hardy perennials must have a rich, moist soil and must be planted in a sunny location.  The saucer-size blooms wither in a day or two but are quickly replaced by other gorgeous ones.

Working swiftly and diligently, the two images below were captured in my light tent.

The lure and magnetism of these floral gifts from the Almighty continue to fascinate me.  Now my Canon SX 20 and I frequent the neighbor’s fence in this summer’s early morning light, and together we cultivate my love of flowers.

More images of these brilliant blooms can be seen at www.corinthrose.com  under Flowers.  Click on 2011 Summer Blooms gallery.  If you linger a bit at the slideshow, you might even spot a few there also.

Thank you for stopping by my digital flower garden.

About corinthrose

Born again Christian, helpmate of 42 years, domestic engineer of two children, GRANDmother of six darlings, professional volunteer, fanatic photographer, and a wanna be writer. Occasionally, infatuated with family history, flower photography, and traveling with my hiking buddy.
This entry was posted in Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner Plates…of the flowery kind

  1. Properly put from a fantastic blogger

  2. corinthrose says:

    I appreciate your comments but why so many email addresses and site addresses?

Leave a Reply

